How to Upgrade and Downgrade your package

There may come a time where you have outgrown your current hosting package. Maybe your business is booming and you are looking to expand your online presence? Or, maybe you wish to change your payment term from monthly to an annual plan? Luckily, you can easily upgrade your account to a new package.


Sections


Upgrading your Hosting Package

If you decide that you need to update your web hosting package, you can do so from your MacHighway client area. If you do not know how to access your client area, you can find out here.

Client Area Home

Once you are logged in, proceed to your My Services section. You can access this section either by:

  1. Clicking on the Services block in the center of the home page.
  2. Clicking on + View All in the Your Active Products/Services section.
  3. Selecting My Services from the Services drop down menu in the top menu bar.

My Services

You will now see a list of all of your services. Find the service you wish to upgrade and click on the Active Button.

Web Hosting Service Page

Once on the hosting plan Service page is loaded, you will see the Actions menu on the left-hand side. In this menu, you will see the option to Upgrade/Downgrade.

Upgrade/Downgrade

On this page, you will be able to choose the plan that you are looking to upgrade to. You can choose the package and select a term, and click on Choose Product.

The system will calculate the Upgrade/Downgrade Charge. Choose your payment method and process the payment to finalize the upgrade. Your account will be upgraded as soon as the payment is processed.

Back to Menu


Changing your Payment Term or Downgrading your Hosting Package

If you wish to change the payment term or downgrade your current hosting plan, you will need to contact our support team.

You can submit your request via Email, Chat or Phone.

Back to Menu


Upgrade/Downgrade Charge

When you upgrade or downgrade your current plan, there may be an Upgrade or Downgrade charge applied and an Invoice created. This charge is the difference between the two packages for the remaining term length.

For example, let us use some made up package names. Lets say you are upgrading from the "Mac Mini" plan ($60/year) to the "Mac Pro" plan ($120/year) and there is currently two months left on the plan.

Old Plan                    New Plan
$60/year=$5/month           $120/year = $10/month

Where you have already paid $5/month for the original package, the Upgrade charge would the the difference of the packages for the remaining months. Where you have two months left, you would be charged the difference times the remaining months.

Months Remaining(New plan - Old plan)
= 2($10 - $5)
= 2($5)
= $10

Your current due date will not change, but you will be billed at the new rate when your new invoice is created. If you are downgrading your services, a credit may be applied to your account for the same reason.

Note: These calculation is done on a daily basis in actuality. We just used the monthly costs to help simplify things here.

Back to Menu


Still Having Issues?

If you are still having issues, you can contact our Customer Support in the following methods:

Live Chat

You can connect to our Live Chat Support Team from your MacHighway Client Area. If you are not sure how to do this, you can find a guide here.

Our Live Chat team is available Monday to Friday from 9:00 AM to 7:00 PM Eastern Time.

Support Ticket

You can submit a support ticket to our Support Team from your client area.

Our ticket Support Team is available 24/7/365.

Phone support

You can contact our Phone Support Team using the following number:

  • US/Canada 1-888-974-0334
  • International 1-727-800-3606

Our Phone Support team is available Monday to Friday from 9:00 AM to 7:00 PM Eastern Time.

  • upgrade, downgrade, hosting
  • 68 Users Found This Useful
Was this answer helpful?

Related Articles

How to set a hosting package for cancellation

If you decide to cancel your MacHighway Hosting service, you will need to submit a Cancellation...

How to login to your Client Area

Difficulty:   Step by Step Instructions   1. To login to your Client Area...

Cancel the Advanced Spam Quarantine service

If you would like to discontinue your Advanced Spam Quarantine service, please submit a ticket to...

How to change your Client Area password

Difficulty:   Step by Step Instructions   1. To change your Client Area...

How to set a domain name for cancellation

While you cannot "cancel" a domain, you can set it to not renew.By default, your MacHighway...