While you cannot "cancel" a domain, you can set it to not renew. One the domain is expired, you will not be able to use it anymore. However, keep in mind that once it is expired and deleted from the registrar, anyone will be able to register the domain. If this happens, there is no way to get it back, so make sure you are done with a domain before letting it expire.
There is a set sequence of events in a domain's life cycle.
- Registration (one to ten years)
- The domain is registered as a new domain
- Domains can be registered for up to 10 years
- The expiry date is the same day, regardless of when you renew it
- Expiry (30-45 days)
- Once the domain is expired, it will be in a AutoRenew status
- The domain will not function, but can be renewed at the regular price
- Redemption (30 days, typically)
- Once in the Redemption status, the domain can still be renewed, but with an additional fee
- The domain is still not active
- Pending Deletion (varies, typically 7 days)
- Once the domain is in this status, it can no longer be renewed by the former registrant
- The domain is now available for registration by anyone.
As long as the domain is renewed before the Expiry date, your domain will stay functional.
Disabling Auto Renew
The way your client area handles domains is that as long as your domain is set to auto renew and your payment information is up to date, your domain will renew 30 days before your expiry date. This is to ensure that you do not have any down time in the event of a payment issue or any other issues that would cause the domain to not renew properly.
If you decide you no longer need a domain and wish to let it expire, then all you need to do is disable the auto renewal. To disable the auto renewal, you first will need to log into your client area, found at customers.machighway.com. If you've forgotten your login details, please use the instructions here.
Once logged in, click on Domains in the upper menu bar and then select My Domains from the drop down menu. Or, you can click on the Domains block in the center of the home page.
You should see a list of all your domains. Click on the bar for the domain that you are looking to unlock (click anywhere on the bar other than the domain name, this will take you to your website). Or, you can click on the drop down menu to the right, beside the Wrench icon and select Manage Domain.
Now, you should be on the Manage page for that domain. On the left-hand side of the screen, you will see the Manage Menu. Click on Auto Renew. You should now see the current status of the Auto Renew. If it is enabled, click the Disable Auto Renew button to disable it.
You will still receive emails letting you know that your domain is expiring. You will also receive an email once the domain is expired. These can be ignored.
Did this answer your question? If not, please let us know what issues you're having by submitting a ticket.